Daily Dose (4/19/13)

WHY I DON’T WITNESS TO PEOPLE ON AIRPLANES“I’ve never ‘witnessed’ to anyone on an airplane. I’ve never asked my seatmate if he’s secured his ticket to heaven, never quizzed the flight attendant on her Ten Commandments record… I’m not sure I know what it means to ‘witness’ to a person anymore. Somewhere in my mid-twenties, I drifted off the Romans Road and stumbled onto a bigger, wilder Gospel in which salvation is less about individual ‘sin management’ and more about God’s relentless work restoring, redeeming, and remaking the whole world.” This is an intriguing article I came across yesterday in which Rachel shares her struggle with witnessing and poses the question, “What does it mean to ‘witness’ to someone?”

THE FIVE BARRIERS TO AUTHENTIC DISCIPLESHIP: The title pretty much explains what the article is about.

BAPTIST COLLEGES CAN’T ACCEPT BAPTIST THEOLOGIANS: “Christian colleges and universities have every right to maintain their denominational heritages… Recently, however, a couple of Baptist colleges have dismissed theology faculty because they hold to Baptist principles.” Collin discusses cases in which professors were let go due to theology that was in agreement with the college, but differed in a secondary way.

THE LIGHT DOES SHINE IN THE DARKNESS: An interesting story about a surrogate mother who was offered $10,000 to abort the baby.

WRINGING OUT A WASHCLOTH IN SPACE: This is a very cool video showing what happens when astronauts wring out a washcloth in space!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Rod Pitts

I'm a 28-year-old guy seeking to obediently go wherever God leads. I did my undergraduate work at Blue Mountain College in Blue Mountain, MS. I obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Christian Ministry and a minor in Psychology. Some things I enjoy: proclaiming the gospel, hanging out with friends, Boy Meets World, BBC's Sherlock, bacon, coffee, chapstick, theology, fruit snacks, sweet tea, chicken & waffles, and Nutella.

Leave a Reply

