NEW: Daily Dose (4/17/13)

Hello readers! It’s been quite a while since I’ve last posted, but I’m going to work on changing that. I’m going to try to come up with some different daily themes to follow so that I can be more consistent. I’m starting today with an idea that I got from Tim Challies’ blog, but I will title my daily collection of posts “Daily Dose”. There will be a summary/thought from me under each post possibly followed by a question to better engage with you.

If you have any suggestions as to daily blog themes or how I can better engage you with my blog, please let me know.

FORGIVENESSI saw this video circulating online yesterday and had to watch it as Matt Chandler is one of my favorite preachers. God still celebrates Christ in us no matter the struggles that we are currently facing. Grace covers our struggles, so there is no reason to fill your life with guilt and despair. Repent and press forward into Christ this morning! I hope that you will be encouraged by this video today.

LOOKING EVIL IN THE EYE: “God using evil things for our good does not make the evil things less evil.” Don’t be afraid to call evil for what it is. There is nothing wrong with being angry and sickened by it, but remember that there is One who is sovereign over evil – ultimately using that evil for the benefit of his people and the glory of himself.

MINISTRY INSIGHTS FROM DAVID PLATT: “I want my preaching to be the overflow of communion with God.” Platt sits down for this almost 13-minute video interview discussing prayer, devotional life, sermon preparation, preaching in other countries, and surrendering to & abiding in Christ.

HOW SOVEREIGN IS GOD?: This article is a compilation of Scripture about the sovereignty of God.

FIND YOUR WORTH IN THE GOSPEL: Were we so valuable to God that we were worth dying for? Is the gospel about our worth or Christ’s work? Trevin Wax discusses this topic in his latest post.

I hope you have a great Wednesday!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Rod Pitts

I'm a 28-year-old guy seeking to obediently go wherever God leads. I did my undergraduate work at Blue Mountain College in Blue Mountain, MS. I obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Christian Ministry and a minor in Psychology. Some things I enjoy: proclaiming the gospel, hanging out with friends, Boy Meets World, BBC's Sherlock, bacon, coffee, chapstick, theology, fruit snacks, sweet tea, chicken & waffles, and Nutella.

3 responses to “NEW: Daily Dose (4/17/13)”

  1. jongilley says :

    Reblogged this on confessions of a worshiper… and commented:
    Check out this blog from a great friend of mine, Rod Pitts! You’ll definitely be challenged and encouraged by it!

  2. jongilley says :

    Good idea bro! I like having a resource like this to quickly find some good reads and videos!

    • Rod Pitts says :

      Thanks! I’m trying to revive my blog and be more disciplined about posting. This is just the start. I hope to be sharing original content again real soon, though.

Leave a Reply

