Seasons of Change: Part 1


Almost half a year ago I wrote a post titled “Seasons of Waiting” in which I reflected upon what God was teaching me during that current season. I learned how to trust God in the unknown, in the waiting, in the doubt. Just as the weather changes during seasons – Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter – so our lives change during similar seasons – loss, doubt, shame, growth, etc. I haven’t really talked to anyone about where I am currently in this season of change, so I’d thought I’d blog about it. Grab a cup of coffee, sit back, and enjoy.

Let me start at the beginning.

When I wrote the previously mentioned post on waiting, I was in my final semester of my senior year in college. All throughout college, things had changed – career paths, friends, jobs, interests, beliefs, etc. Graduation was now right around the corner. I was very excited that I would soon be moving forward in my life.

Yet, at the same time, I was terrified.

We are asked one question over and over again since our childhood – what do you want to be when you grow up? That question carries over into our adulthood as well. In college, our teachers and classmates ask questions such as: What do you want to do with your life? Where do see yourself in five years?

As a child, I would have quickly informed people that I wanted to be a police officer. Don’t ask me why, because I couldn’t tell you. I was just so enthralled by men and women who captured “the bad guys.” Yet, as time progressed and I got older, that interest grew dimmer. I was still very fascinated with fighting crime and catching the bad guys, but I no longer wanted to do that as a career.

Then, as I proceeded into college, my focus soon changed to teaching. I wanted to invest into teenagers’ lives as I taught them and gave them hope for the future, regardless of their past or present circumstances. That changed as well. I still have the desire to invest into teenagers’ lives, but not in that field.

Now, God has called me into ministry leadership. This terrified me in the beginning. For a long time after I surrendered to ministry, I was bound by fear.

Check back tomorrow to read the second half of the post that describes my current season of change.

INTERACT:

  • How have your career paths changed over the course of time?
  • Are you currently in a season of waiting or change? If so, what is God teaching you?

Read Part 2.

Leave a Reply

