A Father to the Fatherless

I sat and thought last night about how the absence of my father has deeply impacted my life – both positively and negatively.

Immediately, this quote from the movie, “Courageous”, ran through my mind:

Do you really feel like it messed up your childhood not having a dad?
– David

More than you know. I struggled with who I was, trying to prove myself.
– Nathan

This one part of the movie sums up my life.

Yes, not having a dad messed up my childhood. It messed up my life.

I didn’t have a father that raised me in the ways of the LORD. I didn’t have a father that taught me how to change the oil, how to change a tire, how to do manly things. There were no other guys that took that position in my life either. Time and time again when I was younger, I would try to prove myself.

Over the years, I have struggled with exactly who I am and what my role is as a godly man. As much as I’ve been messed up by not having a father, it has fueled me into becoming the man I am today and will become in the future.

See, not having a father has made me passionate about one day being a father who does not abandon his son. It has made me look forward to the day where I can be a husband that leads an amazing woman and be the spiritual leader pointing her to Christ. It has made me yearn for the days where I can raise my children in the ways of the LORD. And most important, it has strengthened my relationship with my heavenly Father to experience a love that I had never experienced before.

Psalm 68:5 tells us that God is a “father to the fatherless.”

Psalm 103:13 reads, “As a father shows compassion to his children, so the LORD shows compassion to those who fear him.”

As a child, I was confused. When I first started to be taught that God was like a father when I started going to church, I didn’t understand it. All I knew in my life was an absence of such a figure. I didn’t know what a father’s love was and how it could be such a great thing.

And then He opened my blind eyes. He has shown me such a love that no earthly father could ever show me. He has shown me what true love is through His Son, Jesus. Hallelujah!

While I never had an earthly father to teach me how to be a man, I have a heavenly Father teaching me how to be a godly man – one that walks in the way of His son, Jesus.

Not long after I began typing this, a friend sent me a message on Facebook with some encouragement on the issue.

This is what he wrote:

I know for us, whose fathers have been absent that tomorrow is sometimes a bitter sweet day. But Hallelujah! Our Father in heaven is ever-present in our lives, He is ever-loving, steadfast and enduring, and existed before all time, existent at the hour we first believed, and he will be existing the day we breathe our last, and take in our first breathe in eternity with Him.

I can’t help but think of “Before the Throne” where it says “My name is graven on His hands, My name is written on His heart. I know that while in heaven He stands, No tongue can bid me thence depart.”

I guess I say all this to then conclude that God is our Father, and because we have been fathered by THE Father, we must as men, be fathers and leaders representing the entirety of Christ.

I hope this has been of some encouragement to those today who have never known their father or have a father who has abandoned them. Look toward your Heavenly Father for he loves you much more than any man could ever love you. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

