Hoarded Treasures

With less than a week away from my travels to the other side of the country, I’ve been going through my life (literally everything I own) and deciding to dispose of most of it. I’ve actually eliminated more things than I have salvaged. Found amongst these belongings have been items from my childhood, holiday cards, books, class notes, cds, books, magazines, old electronics, games, books, cords, college material, letters, and even more books. It has certainly been a time of recollection as I sort through these possessions.

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

– Matthew 6:19-21

Treasure. A treasure is something that is highly valued. For years, it has been “things” for me. Obviously, the reason I have kept all this junk over time is because it has held some sort of value to me. Yet, as time has progressed, some of these valued items have quit working, been damaged, been stolen, or have literally been destroyed by rust.

Georg Simmel, a German sociologist (1858-1918), pointed out in his studies that possessions are the medium by which a person’s character gains visible reality. To put that in plain English, possessions show a person’s true nature – what is valued, what is enjoyed, what provides comfort, and what must never be forgotten.

These possessions are no longer valued by me. As I have been away to college, my treasure has began to be rooted in something… someone else – Christ. None of these other things will ever bring the satisfaction that my soul so desperately longs for each day. That satisfaction only comes from Christ. The more I have found my soul to be satisfied in Him, the more joy I have seen develop in my life. The happiness that is birthed from earthly possessions lasts only for a brief period of time, but the joy from being satisfied in Christ lasts forever.

God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.
– John Piper

May it be evident that we truly treasure Christ above everything else.

Tags: , , ,

About Rod Pitts

I'm a 28-year-old guy seeking to obediently go wherever God leads. I did my undergraduate work at Blue Mountain College in Blue Mountain, MS. I obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Christian Ministry and a minor in Psychology. Some things I enjoy: proclaiming the gospel, hanging out with friends, Boy Meets World, BBC's Sherlock, bacon, coffee, chapstick, theology, fruit snacks, sweet tea, chicken & waffles, and Nutella.

Leave a Reply

